不同年代的
苹果广告

近 70 年来,华盛顿苹果协会的主要重点是对该州苹果产业的宣传和营销。

如今,协会专门致力于 外贸项目、行业协会和徽标保护。 但我们的杂志广告、电视广告和促销展示档案可以追溯到 1930 年代初期,展示了我们庆祝每个人最喜欢的水果的悠久历史。


1930年代

新成立的华盛顿苹果协会借助苹果种植者的评估意见扩大他们的广告计划,在 生活,女人的家庭伴侣,好管家,和其他杂志上进行整页报道。 广播广告、地铁海报和广告牌开始出现在全国各地,因为人们对苹果强大的“健康”故事产生了浓厚的兴趣。

1930 年代苹果杂志广告的两个例子。 一个标题是“哈士奇生长的州的健康果实”,另一个标题是“哈士奇生长的华盛顿州宣布“苹果时间”
杂志广告来自 女人的家庭伴侣 以及 生活 杂志,1937

1940年代

二战期间,广告暂停。价格控制使其变得不必要。协会转而投资于围绕水果成熟、储存、零售处理和包装的行业研究。 华盛顿州立大学的厄尔卡尔森教授受聘组织了一个全职研究部门,提出了果园和包装厂在运输过程中减少瘀伤的最佳实践。 他还负责了涉及用塑料袋包装苹果、自动装盒和机械包装设备的早期试验。

三部卡通片宣传减少苹果瘀伤的做法。 第一个标题是“哎哟!” 第二个标题是“Apple's Ain't Coconuts”,第三个标题是“Don't be a bruiser”
行业广告宣传协会关于减少瘀伤的新研究。

战后,协会和苹果托运人联合起来,恢复对苹果的需求,并在竞争激烈的市场中增加销量。 他们在 1948 年历史上最大的销售活动耗资近 500,000 美元,并取得了巨大的成功。

左图:一个年轻女子拿着四个苹果站在一个堆满华盛顿苹果的盒子后面的黑白照片。 右图:卡通人物拿着弓箭瞄准华盛顿苹果,他坐在一个眨眼的金发男孩头上。 它的标题是“你不能错过流行音乐!这是一个华盛顿苹果。”
委员会 1948 年的广告活动包括 90 天的报纸和广播广告,以及与主要食品链合作的直接促销活动。

1950年代

在这十年的早期,由华盛顿苹果协会组织的协会国家苹果研究所将其活动针对牙科和医学专业、营养师和学校。 到 1953 年,在美国牙医协会的支持下,全国发行了 500 多部牙齿保健影片,将苹果宣传为“大自然的牙刷”。

两个孩子和一个红苹果的卡通片,上面写着“为了更好的牙齿健康,定期刷牙,每天吃新鲜水果”

一个小男孩拿着两个苹果的横幅,上面写着“享受苹果‘大自然的牙刷’”

1950 年代初期,报纸广告占据了协会宣传预算的绝大部分,但电视和广播节目开始变得更受欢迎。

委员会于 20 年庆祝成立 1957 周年,同时也确立了其在全国市场中的领先地位。 两岸的杂货连锁店都对华盛顿苹果种植者的能力寄予厚望。 根据 Von's Grocery 商店的农产品经理的说法:“我们真诚地相信,华盛顿苹果种植者的进取政策在很大程度上为新鲜农产品行业的许多其他领域奠定了促销基调。

四个复古插图苹果杂志添加。 第一个说“华盛顿州的每袋华盛顿苹果都可以免费放风筝。” 第二个是棒球运动员吃苹果,标题是“这是大联盟的能量!” 第三个是一盒红苹果,上面写着“给美国人最喜欢的圣诞节苹果”。 第四张是一个孩子的画,画的是一个人举着一个巨大的红苹果,上面写着“给老师的苹果!”
在 1950 年代,这些促销活动在全国各地的报纸上宣传。
像这样的广告开始在电视上层出不穷。 从这个时间段开始,您可以看到更多同类的电视节目 我们的YouTube频道.

苹果盒的没落

到 1950 年代后期,木制苹果盒被纸板箱取代。 他们五颜六色的标签现在是流行的收藏品。


1960年代

到 1961 年春天,华盛顿州苹果种植者见证了第一个官方商标标识的诞生,这也推动了整个行业的延续发展。

原始华盛顿苹果标志的红色、绿色和蓝色版本:一个圆圈,里面有一个苹果的轮廓和“Washingotn”这个词
第一个华盛顿苹果标志

当时,广告和销售活动每年花费大约 1 万美元来拉动华盛顿苹果的销量。

电视观众可以通过邮寄咨询的方式,向协会购买新的苹果切片机。

到 60 年代中期,协会开始协调零售商之间的大型区域销售和展示竞赛。 零售商会提交他们展示的照片,然后被广泛用于收音机、手表、船,乃至雷鸟的图像中。

1960 年代的两个杂志广告。 左图:赢得 1965 年 Thunderbird 的抽奖活动。 右图:“利润丰厚”广告

1960 年代杂货店的黑白照片 Double Delicious 苹果展示架,上面有气球和彩带
像这样的比赛很受零售商欢迎,因为人人都有平等的机会赢得大奖。

1970年代

70 年代,大型促销活动和来势汹涌的广告活动在电视、报纸、杂志和广播中占据主导地位。

您可以在上面找到更多老式电视广告 我们的YouTube频道.

从 60 年代开始,华盛顿苹果协会启用了一名食品页面宣传员,为苹果创造新的有趣用途,然后通过报纸和其他媒体传播这些想法。 到 70 年代,苹果食谱越来越受欢迎,并推动了促销活动。

老式的 70 年代华盛顿苹果杂志广告,黄色背景上有一系列餐点,包括上午、苹果派和苹果沙拉。

杂志广告展示了编织篮子里的华盛顿苹果和华尔道夫沙拉的其他配料,包括葡萄、芹菜和核桃。 标题写着“带一份华尔道夫沙拉回家吃晚饭。”
像华尔道夫沙拉这样的食谱很受欢迎,海报向消费者展示了他们在杂货店所需的食材。

1980年代

1981 年,2.4 万美元的广告预算中最大的一笔钱用于电视广告,其中一些广告展示了Will Rogers, Jr.在华盛顿苹果协会工作了 XNUMX 年。 当红的保罗哈维新闻广播节目每周也有一个相应的节目。

Paul Harvey 在两个写着“世界上最好的苹果”的盒子后面拿着一个黄色和红色的苹果的黑白照片
保罗哈维推销华盛顿苹果。
Will Rogers, Jr. 担任委员会亲善大使和华盛顿苹果公司发言人。

新的华盛顿苹果标志于 1982 年 XNUMX 月揭晓,在苹果的中间部位凸显了华盛顿的名字。

最新的华盛顿苹果标志沿用至今!

到 1985 年,电视广告已覆盖超过 300 亿人。 近 2,000 个电台播放了 50 多个广播节目,全国各地的生产主管们收到了数千封直邮邮件。 全年都在进行丰富多彩的活动,协会提出了一项 5 年计划,将摊款从每箱 15 美分增加到 25 美分。 款项的增加将有助于直面未来的挑战,这使协会的预算增加一倍以上,从 7.4 万美元上升到 16.1 万美元。 其中超过 5 万美元将用于广告。

一则杂志广告在一个标有“华盛顿是世界上最好的苹果”的运输箱中展示红苹果。 广告的标题是“华盛顿苹果。原始的健康食品”。

一个杂志广告。 在前景是一个 golden delicious 苹果皮螺旋脱落。 后面有一段文字,一个拿着红苹果的少女。 标题是“这么好吃的零食,连包装纸都吃了。”

1984 年和 1985 年的华盛顿苹果广告。有关 80 年代的更多电视广告,敬请查看 我们的YouTube频道.

1990年代

在华盛顿苹果协会将重心转移电视广告之前的最后一次重大促销活动是世界上最伟大的祖母比赛。 每年委员会都会在美国和加拿大寻找完美的祖母作为华盛顿苹果种植者的“代言人”。

20 名决赛入围者将在苹果花节期间来到协会位于韦纳奇的总部,参加 最伟大的祖母决赛。 获胜者将出现在海报和全年的活动中。

最伟大的祖母获奖者必须“体现华盛顿苹果的健康特性”,包括“甜到核心”,“由孩子、孙子、伴侣和朋友精心挑选”,并具有“超越表皮的美丽”。 ”

协会的历史

了解更多

苹果印花帆布包

购买苹果商品

您可以在游客中心礼品店和我们的在线商店找到各种独特的华盛顿苹果礼品。

Apple Advertising
Through the Ages

For nearly 70 years, the Washington Apple Commission’s main focus was publicity and marketing for the state’s apple industry.

These days, the Commission is exclusively dedicated to foreign trade programs, industry organizations, and logo protections. But our archive of magazine ads, TV spots, and promotional displays dates back to the early 1930s — and showcases our long history of celebrating everyone’s favorite fruit.


THE 1930s

The newly formed Washington Apple Commission used assessments from apple growers to expand their advertising program to include full pages in Life, Woman’s Home Companion, Good Housekeeping, and other magazines. Radio ads, subway posters, and billboards started popping up around the country as a strong interest in the powerful “health” story for apples started to develop.

Two examples of apple magazine ads from the 1930s. One is titled "The Health Fruit of the State where 'Huskies' grow" and the other is titled "State of Washington Where Huskies Grow Proclaims 'The Apple Hour'"
Magazine ads from Woman’s Home Companion and Life magazines, 1937

THE 1940s

During World War II, advertising paused — price controls made it unnecessary — and the Commission instead invested in industry research around fruit maturity, storage, retail handling, and packing. Professor Earl Carlson from Washington State College was hired to organize a full-time research department, which led to bruise reduction practices in the orchard and packing house, as well as in transit. He also explored early tests of packing apples in plastic bags, automatic box filling, and mechanical packing equipment.

Three cartoons promoting apple bruise reduction practices. The first one is titled "Ouch!" The second one is titled "Apple's Ain't Coconuts" and the third is titled "Don't be a bruiser"
Industry ads promoting new Commission research on bruise reduction.

After the war, the Commission and apple shippers united to restore demand for apples and increase sales in a competitive market. Their biggest-in-history sales push in 1948 cost nearly $500,000 — and was a huge success.

Left: A black and white photo of a young woman holding four apples standing behind a box heaping with Washington apples. Right: A cartoon of a man with a bow and arrow aiming at the Washington apple sitting on the head of a winking blond boy. It's titled "You can't miss pop! It's a Washington apple."
The Commission’s 1948 ad campaign included 90 days of newspaper and radio advertising, as well as direct promotions with major food chains.

THE 1950s

In the early part of the decade, the National Apple Institute, an association organized by the Washington Apple Commission, directed its campaign at the dental and medical profession, dietitians, and schools. By 1953, more than 500 copies of dental health films were circulated throughout the country, promoting the apple as “Nature’s Toothbrush” – with the blessing of the American Dental Association.

Cartoon of two kids and a red apple that says "For better dental health brush teeth regularly, eat fresh fruit daily"

Banner of a young boy holding two apples that says "Enjoy apples 'nature's toothbrush'"

Newspaper advertising used the vast majority of the Commission’s promotional budget in the early 1950s — but television and radio spots were beginning to become more popular.

The Commission celebrated its 20th Anniversary in 1957, along with its position as a leader in the nation’s marketplace. Grocery chains on both coasts believed in the power of Washington apple growers. According to the Produce Manager for Von’s Grocery stores: “We sincerely believe that the enterprising policies of Washington apple growers have, to a great degree, set the promotional pace for many other segments of the fresh produce industry.

Four vintage illustrated apple magazine adds. The first says "Washington state jet-a-kite free with every bag of Washington apples." The second is of a baseball player eating an apple captioned "Here's big league energy!" The third is of a box of red apples captioned "Give America's Favorite Apples for Christmas." The fourth is of a kid's drawing of a person holding up a giant red apple captioned 'The apple for teacher!"
In the 1950s, these promotions would have been circulated in newspapers around the country.
Ads like these were beginning to show up on TV. You can see more TV spots from this time period on our YouTube channel.

END OF THE APPLE BOX

Wooden apple crates were replaced with cardboard boxes by the late 1950s. Their colorful labels are now popular collector’s items.


THE 1960s

By the spring of 1961, the first official trademarked logo was unveiled to the Washington state apple growers to help drive continuity across the industry.

Red, green, and blue versions of the original Washington Apple logo: a circle with the outline of an apple inside and the word "Washingotn"
The first Washington apple logo

At the time, the advertising and merchandising program was spending around $1 million per year to help drive the sale of Washington apples.

TV viewers could mail the Commission to request a new apple slicer.

By the mid-60s, the Commission had started coordinating large regional sales and display contests amongst retailers. Retailers would submit a photo of their display, then be entered into a drawing for radios, watches, boats — even a Thunderbird.

Two magazine ads from the 1960s. Left: A raffle to win a 1965 Thunderbird. Right: Ad for a "profit bonanza"

Black and white photo of a 1960s grocery store Double Delicious apple display with balloons and streamers
Contests like these were popular with retailers since everyone, regardless of size, had an equal chance to win a great prize.

THE 1970s

Large promotions and aggressive advertising campaigns dominated TV, newspapers, magazines, and radio during the 70s.

You can find more vintage TV ads on our YouTube channel.

Starting in the 60s, the Washington Apple Commission had a food page publicist to create new and interesting uses for apples, then distributed those ideas through newspapers and other media. By the 70s, apple recipes were increasingly popular, and drove promotions.

Vintage 70s Washington apple magazine ad with an array of meals sitting on a yellow background including am, apple pie, and apple salad.

Magazine ad showing Washington apples in a woven basket with other ingredients for a Waldorf salad including grapes, celery, and walnuts. The caption reads "Take a Waldorf Salad home for dinner."
Recipes like the Waldorf Salad were popular and posters showed shoppers the ingredients they needed at the grocery store.

THE 1980s

In 1981, the biggest investment out of a $2.4 million advertising budget was in television, with some ads showcasing Will Rogers, Jr., who had worked with the Washington Apple Commission for six years. The influential Paul Harvey News radio show also included a spot each week.

Black and white photo of Paul Harvey holding a yellow and red apple behind two boxes that say "The world's finest apples"
Paul Harvey promotes Washington Apples.
Will Rogers, Jr. served as a goodwill ambassador for the Commission and spokesperson for Washington Apples.

The new Washington Apple logo was unveiled in December 1982, which amped up the Washington name through the middle of the apple.

The new, modern Washington Apple logo is still in use today!

By 1985, TV advertising was reaching more than 300 million people. There were over 2,000 radio spots running on nearly 50 stations, and thousands of pieces of direct mail were hitting the desks of produce executives across the nation. Full-scale activities were happening throughout the year, and the Commission proposed a 5-year plan to increase assessments from 15 cents per box up to 25 cents. The increase would help meet the challenges of moving larger crops into the future, and more than double the Commission’s budget, from $7.4 million to $16.1 million. More than $5 million of that increase would be dedicated to advertising.

A magazine ad showing red apples in a shipping box labeled "Washington the world's finest apples." The title of the ad is "Washington Apples. The Original Health Food."

A magazine ad. In the foreground is a golden delicious apple with its peel spiraling off. There is some text behind it, and a young girl holding a red apple. The title reads "A snack so good, people even eat the wrapper."

Washington apple ads from 1984 and 1985. For more TV spots from the 80s, check out our Youtube channel.

THE 1990s

One of the last major promotions before the Washington Apple Commission pivoted away from advertising in the US was the World’s Greatest Granny contest. Each year, the Commission sponsored the search across the US and Canada for the perfect granny to be the “spokesgranny” for Washington apple growers.

The 20 finalists would come to the Commission’s headquarters in Wenatchee during the Apple Blossom Festival to participate in the Granny Finale — the winner would be featured on posters and at events throughout the year.

Greatest Granny winners had to “personify the healthful attributes” of Washington apples, including being “sweet to the core,” being “hand-picked by children, grandchildren, spouses, and friends,” and featuring “beauty that’s more than skin deep.”

HISTORY OF THE COMMISSION

learn MORE

PUT AN APPLE ON IT

SHOP APPLE MERCH

You’ll find all sorts of unique Washington apple gifts at the Visitor’s Center gift shop and on our online store.